Voted “2015 Best Bed and Breakfast of Rural Missouri” by readers of “Rural Missouri” Magazine. See page 24. topbanner_new (1)

Down Over Bed and Breakfast

About the Down Over Bed and Breakfast

The house is a one of a kind bungalow style home built in 1912. From the notations in the book, Arrow Rock Places*, “the large two-story bungalow on the corner of Sixth and Main was built in 1912 by descendants of Pearsons who came to Arrow Rock in 1829.

This substantial home is fronted with a porch that extends around the northeast corner. Above the porch is a second floor gabled dormer. This residence represents the change to modern housing with electricity and water system installed in the original building.”

pearson house

The home was remodeled for a bed and breakfast in 1984. Shortly afterward, the garage on the front of the property was converted to “The Cottage.” Next, the two story addition on the west side of the house was completed, giving the bed and breakfast three additional rooms.

living room
The living room is a typical arts and crafts bungalow with built-in divider between the living room and dining room, large windows, fireplace, wooden floors and lovely wood trim. From the living room, visitors can go to the front porch area, into the commons room, or dining room.

Many times, early risers find these areas the perfect spot to enjoy their coffee or tea and conversation with fellow guests.

The common area family room welcomes visitors with couches and a large game table, TV, VCR/DVD player, popcorn and other refreshments on a daily basis. A microwave and refrigerator/freezer are available for use by all guests. Reading material is in abundance. Join us for refreshments during the afternoon or conversation anytime.

Commons

front porch

*Arrow Rock Places, written, compiled and edited by Virginia Fisher,and David Perkins,1988, Historic Arrow Rock Council.James and Pat Kennedy